The Breakfast Club

Turns out Plymouth is a bit spoilt for great locations to have breakfast.

Judd breakfasted on cigarettes and Jack Daniels

I’ve just broken my fast at the Seco Lounge in Royal William Yard. Lounge regular Chris Penberthy was there, looking busy with a notebook computer (they have free wifi) and a coffee. He recommended I join the Breakfast Club – English Breakfast and a coffee for £5.75.

Initially I was disappointed there was no Judd Nelson included (‘he was harsh’), not even a Molly Ringwald*. But what there was was plenty of outdoor searing on a glorious summer morning overlooking (sort of) the River Tamar. As I write I can see the sloping fields of Cornwall in the distance. There are worse places to have breakfast. I’m even enjoying listening to the man with the posh voice and the head tattoo talk about art on the table next to me with a slightly camp older man.

What about the breakfast itself? Well it was ok. There was nothing wrong with it but it didn’t make me go wow. It was slightly on the small side. Would I come back again for it? Yes I would.

You see, you can look at the breakfast and call it small as a criticism. But I cycled to the Royal Willie, so a gutbuster would just leave me puking in a gutter in Stonehouse on the way home. A smallish fry-up is exactly what I wanted – enough to fill me up but not leave me prostrate with a distended gut.

This is what I mean by the city having something for everyone breakfast wise:

You want a gutbuster – go to Goodbodies on Mutley Plain.

You want top-notch ingredients – go to Bistro One on Ebrington St.

You want a great view while you eat – go to either the Lounge or the Terrace Cafe on the Hoe.

A negative for the Seco though – minimum £10 spend on cards. Acceptable in small bars and cafes who can’t afford charges. Less so in chains like the Lounge (though it is a South West-based chain)

Right then, helmet on, off we go!

*If these names mean nothing to you, read click here

Explore posts in the same categories: Devon, Drink, Food

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Breakfast Club”

  1. Warren Dow Says:

    Agree with all of the above. Best breakfast in town definetly at Bustro One with great conversation in any subject with Stephen. Seco -very good, especially the ‘lounge eggs’ but they must sort out the service which is dire. An hour long wait for food can be the norm so don’t go if you want your food in a hurry!

  2. Jenny Says:

    Monty’s on the Barbican is still my favourite for breakfast – their toasted bagel with crispy bacon & poached eggs is Sunday morning heaven!


Leave a Reply

