Godminster Organic, cheese from Somerset

What’s better than organic cheese? Organic cheese from Godminster of Somerset with a fruitcake on the side, of course.

Cheese and cake. In a box.

I don’t often get envious of other food bloggers’ competitions, I run some great ones myself, like the current Mann & Son Christmas hamper giveaway which you all still have time to enter!

But I was scouring the interweb the other day and the green Twitter monster reared his head. I saw Beth Sachs, who runs the excellent Jam and Clotted Cream blog, was offering a cheesy giveaway for Christmas in the form of a massive pile of assorted fromage courtesy of the Cheese Shed. And I immediately entered the competition. Twice.

And what better way to launch a three-paragraph preamble into a blog about a cheese I have recently tried and liked. Godminster Organic make cheddar cheese at their place in Somerset, and is one of the cheeses in the jam and Clotted Cream giveaway. The other week it took no cajoling at all for them to send me some, which was nice. Not only did they send me cheese, they sent me one of their Fruitcake and Cheese Combos.

The cheese was an award-winner in 2009 at the National Cheese Awards and it wasn’t hard to see why. The hard wax outer might make you think fleetingly of Mini BabyBell (shame on you) but once you get through it and put it to one side to play with later, you hit the motherload. The organic cheddar is creamy and bouncy and very very moreish. I had high plans for it – I envisioned a wire cooling rack abundant with cheese scones – but it didn’t last long enough to be made into such scones. And perhaps that is fitting, as I’m not sure that it does the cheese justice.

And then there is the fruitcake. Here I have to reserve some criticism. Not about the way it tasted, it was delicious and very much enjoyed by my office, with whom I share a lot of review goodies. But I have to report that attempting to cut a reasonable slice from it was impossible – it disintegrated at the touch of a sharp knife.

But that point aside, the cheese/cake combo is a decent call for Christmas for a relative perhaps of a certain age, but who also appreciates some good food. For the younger ones, well, Godminster do produce their own flavoured vodkas

Explore posts in the same categories: Drink, Food, Somerset

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Godminster Organic, cheese from Somerset”

  1. Tim Wilcock Says:

    Looks like an ideal present for any forthcoming impending event.


Leave a Reply

