Osso buco – no big veal

Veal is one of my favourite meats, a greatly undervalued one in my opinion. It is still often frowned upon for quite ridiculous reasons.

Those who object to veal crates and other cruel practices can easily see the source of the meat before they buy and choose only to buy from reputable sources. The only question really is whether the price is good.

Boccadon Farm is a great little cattle farm in South East Cornwall. They can be found at many food festivals and shows around the area and they supply many restaurants.

I bought my meat from St Kew Harvest Farm Shop in North Cornwall, one which I have written many times. This was no ordinary meat. I had bought two osso buco.

"Actually I'm a leg man..."

Sounds good doesn’t it? I hope your interest remains as I tell you it is veal calves (it translates as ‘bone with a hole – reference to the marrow-rich leg) – cut horizontally through the leg bone. Hang in there, it gets better.

For this cut is used to make a great Italian dish of the same name that I made for my girlfriend this weekend, to great acclaim (and she tells me when she doesn’t like stuff, believe me). It’s a great warming Sunday evening dish. The recipe below serves two.

Ingredients:

Two veal shin cutlets on the bone
Three carrots, peeled and chopped
Two celery sticks, chopped
Three gloves of garlic
A large onion/two leeks, finely chopped
Handful fresh/teaspoon dried marjoram
Handful fresh/teaspoon parsley
Tin of chopped tomatoes
Half a bottle (375ml) of dry white wine
Salt and pepper

Method:

In a deep saucepan or casserole dish, heat some oil over a high heat.
Brown the veal shins on both sides, remove from oil and set aside.
Drain off excess oil and return to the hob on a low heat.
Add all the veg and herbs and fry gently for 10-15 minutes until soft.
Add the tomatoes and wine, increase the heat and cook for a further 10 minutes.
Return the veal to the pan and cook gently with the lid on for an hour or until the meat is tender.
Serve with rice, risotto Milanese, pasta or even mash.

Bon appetite.

Explore posts in the same categories: Cornwall, Food

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Osso buco – no big veal”

  1. Lee Says:

    excellent post, I love Osso Buco too. I once tried serving veal marrow bones with toast as a starter. It wasn’t a big seller, though everyone who tried it loved that delicious umami flavour


Leave a Reply

